The Mindbenders

(photographs copyright and courtesy Eric Stewart)

Line-up included

  • Eric Stewart - Guitar, Vocals
  • Bob Lang - Bass
  • Rick Rothwell - Drums, Vocals 
  • Graham Gouldman - Bass, Vocals 1967
  • Paul Hancox - Drums 1967
  • Jimmy O'Neil - Drums 1968

Vocalist Glynn Ellis fronted The Jets in 1963. He arranged to have The Jets play for a Fontana Records talent scout at a local club. As Ellis and bassist Bob Lang were the only ones to show up, they recruited guitarist Eric Stewart and drummer Rick Rothwell and landed a recording contract with Ellis changing his name to Wayne Fontana and the band to The Mindbenders.

Their cover of Major Lance's "Um, Um, Um, Um, Um, Um" was their first hit in 1964. They followed this with another top ten record "Game Of Love" in 1965.

The band broke up at the end of 1965, shortly after the release of "It's Just A Little Bit Too Late" with the Mindbenders striking out on their own.

Their first hit was "A Groovy Kind Of Love" , followed by "Ashes To Ashes" in 1966 before splitting up in 1968.

Full info is available on Eric Stewart's own website 



  • A Groovy Kind Of Love/Love Is Good 
  • Can't Live With You (Can't Live Without You)/One Fine Day
  • Ashes To Ashes/You Don't Know About Love
  • I Want Her She Wants Me/The Morning After


  • We'll Talk About It Tomorrow/Far Across Town
  • The Letter/My New Day And Age
  • Schoolgirl/Coming Back


  • Blessed Are The Lonely/Yellow Brick Road
  • Uncle Joe The Icecream Man/The Man Who Loved Trees 

Comments powered by CComment